Jesus · Life

Insecurities

I am insecure about a lot. As time has gone by I like to think certain insecurities have faded, but I really think I have just gotten better at hiding them.

One thing I’m pretty insecure about is my voice. It’s one of those silly things that I don’t understand but so be it.

I work at Jack in the Box. When I run the drive thru, I have to talk to the customers through the intercom outside and at the window. About 2 months ago a woman cam through the drive thru, about 2/3 of the way through my long shift. I was so exhausted and really didn’t want to be there anymore. But after taking her order from the intercom, she came up to the window and commented on how cute my voice is.

Like how crazy is it that we get compliments on the things we’re the most insecure about?! This woman came through the drive thru, and had no idea how much  a comment like that would mean to me, she just felt the need to say it.

I know that these little encounters have to be from God. I think they are little reminders of the perfection we are in his eyes, and how that isn’t changed by how we see ourselves or by how others see us. You are incredibly beautiful and perfect no matter what anyone tells you. A way I like to remember this is I look at our local mountain, a sight that everyone calls beautiful. And you know what God created that mountain, and he created me. He thinks that you and I are just as beautiful as that mountain, and that the world would be empty without us. You are beautiful in the eyes of the Father.

“Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” Proverbs 31:30

How great is it that God blesses us with such small but meaningful things.

Hannah xoxo

