Jesus · Life

End of an era

This is a fact of life. Things end. We move onto the next chapter, but this is easier said than done. Knowing for 12 years that I would graduate the BSF children’s program, didn’t make leaving any easier.

This is the most recent page turn for me. I had to leave the children’s/school program at BSF. This is one of the reasons I became passionate about faith. This was where I gained so many mentors and true friends in Christ.

A mentor I have had for 4 years now, has always challenged me to remain uncomfortable. As a very type-A planner person, this is a struggle. And she knew full well when she told me that.

I was comfortable in that program. I had my dad to take me every week. I had the same students surrounding me since 1st grade. And knowing this doesn’t make me any less sad to leave it.

But the end of this era is inevitable.

I have honestly struggled with my security blanket being stripped from me. It is hard, there’s no denying that. But I have decided to look at the bright side. There is always something good if you look hard enough. And at this present moment, that is the hope of moving onto the BSF program in a different city, where I can be surrounded by and learn from older believers. Being one of 2 senior in the BSF class, gave me the role of leader and teacher, and next year the tables will turn. Which will continue to stretch me and my faith.

This whole senior year has been the ending of so many things. Friendships. Free education. Living at home. Living near my family. Near friends.

There of course is sadness in these things. I have shed many tears, paralyzed by fear of the future. But we weren’t created to stay in one place, we were meant to grow. In the famous worship song “Oceans,” one line says “Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander and my faith will be made stronger.” At first glance, this was a nice line. But when you think of the meaning it is so much more. “Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander,” my feet can’t touch the middle of the ocean where it is hundreds of feet deep. Yet God will stretch me so I can survive. Literally stretch me. That doesn’t seem comfortable, but “my faith will be made stronger.” This was profound to me. Faith isn’t comfortable, it’s getting through the uncomfortable with God’s strength and guidance.

Chapters end, but that doesn’t mean the book ends. Enjoy the changes happening in your life and embrace the positives they bring.

Hannah xoxo

