Jesus · Life · Uncategorized

A Two-sided God

As someone who accepted God into my life at 5, I accepted the promise of eternal life and seeing Him. As a 5 year old, I didn’t grasp what I was accepting beyond the Sunday school picture of eternal life. I accepted Jesus as my Savior. But is that all Jesus is?

Jesus is not only our Savior, but our Lord. At first glance these may not seem different or significant. With a closer look and examination of my life, I realized I had accepted the Savior part of Jesus, but not the Lord. I had accepted Jesus for the rewards I would get- eternal life. Of course, I neglected the part of accepting Jesus as the ruler of my life. I believed for the rewards, selfishly ignoring the hard part.

Jesus is so much more than a Savior. He is the Lord – literally meaning a person who has authority. I, and I’m sure many others as well, have chosen to pick only one side of God. The side that caters to my needs and wants, ignoring the hard part.

Believing in God is not only believing in his sacrifice, but giving your life to him, and letting him have control. 

This is not easy. As I’ve said many times in the past, I love control and organization. Giving God total control is terrifying, no matter how much trust I have in him. As life goes on I realize this is not only important for a complete faith, but also a complete life. God’s control relieves stress, God carries our baggage (for free!).

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34

God desires us to give him control. He doesn’t want us to bury ourselves in worry and anxiety, as I know full well I can. God desires a beautiful relationship between us, where we acknowledge his sacrifice and power.

Hannah xoxo

